Arvida, Industry and Resources

The creation of Arvida is based on industrial operations of unprecedented scale inspired by the region’s unique potential and remarkable dynamics of the aluminum multinational. The ideal features of the chosen site can be summed up in three points. Transport infrastructures, advertised since 1911 to American investors by Julien-Édouard-Alfred Dubuc (a well-known local industrial) such as the Port-Alfred deep-water port near which he built a pulp-and-paper mill town of the same name; the potential for hydroelectric development so far supporting the region’s development through industrial typical facilities (Val-Jalbert, Kénogami, Riverbend, Port-Alfred, etc.), had not yet found takers requiring enough energy to use the great hydraulic reservoir of Lake Saint-Jean to its full potential; and, finally, the geological features of the soil (anorthosite), allowing Alcoa to consider implementing a plant equipped with new extraction processes entirely self-sufficient, for all of its resources and operating assets can be found on site.

Naturally, Arvida isn’t the first planned industrial town of the region, and neither is Arthur Vining Davis the first entrepreneur to dream upon the phenomenal hydropower potential of the area; they nonetheless represent its synthesis and culmination. At a time when hydropower exploitation was becoming a full-scale industry, William Price, another industrial established in the area, had recently teamed up with James Buchanan Duke, the American tobacco magnate, to set up an hydropower project from the Grande Décharge (Alma) and Lake Saint-Jean, taken over by Alcoa and Alcan, bringing Arvida to life as well as the subsequent industrialization of the Saguenay region.

The industrial facility that blossoms 450 miles north of Boston, as the little known area is perceived in 1925 on the American and world stages, testifies to the magnitude of the project. There is not only a 40-potrooms smelter (most house less than five at the time), but also a refinery extracting alumina from bauxite through an extremely energy-hungry process, which usually justifies for a very large number of smelters.

Just as the multifunctional and integrated character sets the model city of Arvida apart, the integrated aluminum activity enables the Alcan smelter to rise to the top of the WWII production by providing the greater part of the aluminum supporting the Allied war effort as well as 90 % of the Commonwealth’s production. Arvida then became a “secret town”, protected by an extensive contingent of men and weapons. While maintaining its role in the regional development, notably by prompting the construction of the Bagotville military base, the 1920’s utopia experienced a significant growth in the 1940’s, with an industrial production exceeding 340,000 tons as anticipated in the initial design. 

  Official City of Saguenay website

Arvida, l'industrie et les ressources

La création d’Arvida se fonde sur une exploitation industrielle d’une envergure sans précédent, inspirée par les potentiels uniques de la région et le dynamisme remarquable de la multinationale aluminière. Le caractère idéal du site choisi se résume en trois éléments. Des infrastructures de transport que Julien-Édouard-Alfred Dubuc, l’industriel bien connu de la région, vantait aux investisseurs américains depuis 1911, dont un port en eau profonde auprès duquel il avait lui-même établi sa ville papetière de Port-Alfred; un potentiel de développement hydroélectrique qui avait d’ailleurs jusque-là étayé le développement de la région, autour de ses établissements industriels caractéristiques (Val-Jalbert, Kénogami, Riverbend, Port-Alfred, etc.), mais dont le projet culminant, l’utilisation de l’immense réservoir hydraulique du lac Saint-Jean, n’avait pas encore trouvé preneur suffisamment énergivore; et, enfin, la matière géologique du sol (anorthosite), qui permet à Alcoa d’envisager la mise en œuvre d’une usine dotée de procédés d’extraction novateurs et tout à fait autarcique, puisque l’ensemble de ses ressources et de ses moyens d’exploitation s’y trouveraient localisés.

Bien sûr, Arvida n’est pas la première des villes industrielles planifiée de la région, ni Arthur Vining Davis le premier entrepreneur à rêver des possibilités hydroélectriques phénoménales des lieux; ils en forment cependant la synthèse et l’apogée. À une époque où l’exploitation hydroélectrique s’imposait de plus en plus comme une industrie à part entière, William Price, autre industriel établi dans la région, s’était d’ailleurs depuis peu associé au magnat du tabac étasunien James Buchanan Duke, afin de précisément mettre en place le projet hydroélectrique qui, à partir de la Grande Décharge (Alma) et du lac Saint-Jean, repris par Alcoa puis par Alcan, va prêter vie à Arvida et à l’industrialisation subséquente de la région du Saguenay.

L’établissement industriel, qui naît à 450 milles au nord de Boston, comme on conçoit en 1925 ces lieux peu connus sur les scènes américaine ou mondiale, témoigne de la magnitude du projet. En effet, on y annonce d’emblée non seulement une usine d’électrolyse de 40 salles de cuves (la plupart des usines en comptent alors moins de cinq), mais aussi une raffinerie afin d’extraire l’alumine de la bauxite par un procédé extrêmement énergivore, ce qui ne se justifie habituellement que pour desservir un très grand nombre d’usines d’électrolyse.

De même que son caractère intégré et multifonctionnel distingue la cité modèle d’Arvida, c’est cette intégration de l’activité aluminière qui permettra à l’usine Alcan de se hisser en tête de la production de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de fournir 90 % de l’aluminium du Commonwealth et une part majeure de celui qui a soutenu l’effort de guerre des Alliés. Arvida est alors devenue une « ville secrète », protégée par un contingent considérable d’hommes et d’armes. Tout en maintenant son rôle dans le développement régional, notamment en motivant la construction de la Base militaire de Bagotville, l’utopie des années 1920 a elle-même pris dans les années 1940 une expansion considérable, avec une production industrielle dépassant les 340 000 tonnes, comme le prévoyait son plan initial.

  Site officiel de la Ville de Saguenay