Municipal recognition

Over the past century, the company’s governance, which made it its core and trademark on the international stage, has gradually been passed on to the municipal administration. The city has taken over partnership with the Arvidians to preserve the characteristics of the historical and built landscape of Arvida. In the wake of initiatives taken by the city of Jonquière, which Arvida was annexed to in 1975, Saguenay, which Arvida is now integrated to, expresses its deep consideration to the urban, architectural and historical quality of Arvida. The City of Saguenay has repeatedly committed to the preservation of its urban landscapes, distinctive buildings in the history of Canadian architecture, as well as its workers accommodations, unique in the array of planned industrial cities.

CIty officials have worked at implementing a heritage management framework that did not come from an external model, but adapted to Arvida’s specific urban and architectural characteristics. Several specialized studies as well as customized surveys have supported actions taken across the Arvida area since 1990. These actions led to establishing heritage restoration consulting services, while setting regulations to be subsequently adopted; they are the foundations of the collaboration between City and citizens for the preservation of Arvida. Saguenay also inventoried and digitized over one thousand original documents from architectural, urban and infrastructure designs, including those relevant to the 125 house models. In 1999 and 2001, the City also designated every church a heritage site, as well as Arvida’s institutional chore, a group of five schools built from 1927 to 1962, and two churches erected in 1949 and 1950.

The City planned and adopted nine site planning and architectural integration programs to protect Arvida. As a result, almost all of the built-up territory of the City of Arvida, as well as the very symbolic aluminum bridge, also recognized under the Cultural Heritage Act, are subject to one heritage regulation or another, according to needs and requirements.

Saguenay took another step towards the recognition and preservation of its heritage, after twenty some years dedicated to the acknowledgement and preservation of the architectural and urban landscape of Arvida, in a partnership with Québec Ministry of Culture and Communications. In 2010, thanks to the great support of its citizens, a ruling helped constitute three heritage sites including 733 houses, which represents about 40% of the territory of the model city of Arvida. The initiative, a first in municipal heritage history, was however only the first step in a global partnership the City hopes to forge around the knowledge and recognition of Arvida.

  Official City of Saguenay website

Niveau municipal

Au fil du siècle, la gouvernance exercée par la compagnie, qui en a fait son berceau et son image de marque sur la scène internationale, s’est progressivement réduite à la faveur de celle de l’administration municipale. La Ville a pris le relais du partenariat avec les Arvidiens dans la protection des caractéristiques distinctives du paysage construit et historique d’Arvida. Dans la foulée des initiatives entreprises par la municipalité de Jonquière, à laquelle Arvida a été rattachée en 1975, Saguenay, à laquelle la cité modèle est dorénavant intégrée, veut témoigner de sa vive considération pour la qualité urbanistique, architecturale et historique d’Arvida. La Ville de Saguenay s’est à de nombreuses reprises engagée dans la préservation de ses paysages urbains, de ses monuments distinctifs dans l’histoire de l’architecture canadienne et de son habitat ouvrier unique dans l’éventail des cités industrielles planifiées.

Les responsables municipaux ont particulièrement œuvré à mettre en place un cadre de gestion du patrimoine, non pas issu d’un modèle extérieur, mais précisément adapté aux spécificités des qualités urbanistiques et architecturales d’Arvida. Plusieurs études spécialisées et inventaires spécifiquement adaptés ont appuyé ces actions dans l’ensemble du territoire d’Arvida depuis les années 1990. Ces travaux ont donné lieu à la mise en place d’un service d’aide-conseil à la restauration, tout en étayant les règlementations subséquemment adoptées; ils sont le ferment de la collaboration entre les citoyens et la Ville dans la conservation d’Arvida. Saguenay a aussi inventorié et numérisé plus d’un millier de feuillets originaux de plans d’architecture, d’urbanisme et d’infrastructure dont elle est la dépositaire, y compris ceux relatifs aux 125 modèles de maisons. Depuis 1999, la Ville a aussi constitué en sites du patrimoine toutes ses églises, ainsi que le noyau institutionnel d’Arvida, ensemble constitué de cinq écoles construites de 1927 à 1962 et de deux églises élevées en 1949 et 1950.

La Ville a conçu et adopté neuf plans d’implantation et d’intégration architecturale afin de protéger Arvida. Cela a eu pour effet que la quasi-totalité du territoire bâti de la cité d’Arvida, ainsi que le symbolique pont d’aluminium, aussi cité en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel, sont assujettis à l’une ou l’autre règlementation de protection patrimoniale, selon les besoins et les dispositifs qui les caractérisent.

Après une vingtaine d’années ainsi consacrées, en partenariat avec le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, à la connaissance et à la protection du paysage architectural et urbain d’Arvida, Saguenay a entrepris de franchir une nouvelle étape de la reconnaissance et de la sauvegarde de son patrimoine. En 2010, avec l’appui important de ses citoyens, elle a adopté un règlement de constitution de trois sites du patrimoine, y compris 733 maisons, qui recouvrent environ 40 % du territoire de la cité modèle d’Arvida. Ce geste, une première dans l’histoire municipale du patrimoine, n’est néanmoins qu’une première étape dans un partenariat global que la Ville aimerait nouer autour de la connaissance et de la reconnaissance d’Arvida.

  Site officiel de la Ville de Saguenay