National recognition

In 2012, the Government of Canada designated Arvida a National Historic Site of Canada. The commemorated Borough covers three heritage sites designated by the municipality in 2010: the City built in 135 days, Neilson Street area, and the Saguenay Manor. Together united from an historical standpoint, components of the Borough are also linked from an aesthetic standpoint, for they illustrate the formal research conducted in Arvida to produce a favourable environment for workers in order to let the city itself become the company’s trade mark. 

Federal authorities have acknowledged that the Arvida Borough is of such architectural, artistic, iconic, scenic, urban, aesthetic and historic interest that its knowledge, protection and promotion are of undeniable public interest on a national level. The Borough is an eloquent testimony to the history of the company town Arvida once was, and along with areas surrounding the model town, proof to its original contribution, measured on the world stage, among the historical overview of planned industrial towns. Its homogeneity, consistency and landscape coherence, make it recognizable; it contains a remarkable proportion of architectural components of interest in a good state of preservation; finally, it displays unique samples of the distinctive landscape diversity of a company town. 

More specifically, Parks Canada Agency supports the Arvida Borough’s historic significance for the following reasons:

  • Aside from the downtown area, Arvida is a great synthesis of urban concepts from the past, such as the City Beautiful Movement, Garden City, and also following more modern insights of Contour planning, traffic routes prioritization and federation of neighbourhood centers. This synthesis results in organic routes following the topography, the omnipresence of green spaces, parks and trees, picturesque character of the landscape dotted with houses free of fences and obstacles, as if they just came out of the ground.
  • A very well preserved example of a mono-industrial Canadian town, Arvida represents a unique quality labour housing, where the fast rising of a diversified urban landscape happened through a wide variety of house designs, some of which a particularly successful architectural event of regionalist and neo-vernacular inspiration.
  • Arvida’s growth is associated with the first Canadian aluminum complex, and bears witness to the rise and evolution of the aluminum industry in Canada.

Arvida becomes part of the select group of 961 historic sites designated since 1919. In 2012, there were 193 national historic sites; across de country, there are very few town companies commemorated by the federal government, notwithstanding their crucial importance in the growth of Canada. Arvida is a prime example of that.

  Official City of Saguenay website

Niveau national

En 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a désigné le Lieu historique national du Canada d’Arvida. L’Arrondissement qui fait l’objet de la commémoration recouvre les trois sites du patrimoine constitués par la municipalité en 2010, soit les sites de la ville construite en 135 jours, du secteur de la rue Neilson et du secteur du Manoir du Saguenay. Unis sur le plan historique, les éléments qui composent cet Arrondissement le sont aussi d’un point de vue esthétique, puisqu’ils illustrent les recherches formelles menées à Arvida en vue de déployer un environnement favorable à l’épanouissement des travailleurs et pour faire de la ville elle-même l’image de marque de la compagnie mère. 

Les autorités fédérales ont reconnu que cet Arrondissement d’Arvida fait état d’un intérêt d’ordre architectural, artistique, emblématique, paysager, urbanistique, esthétique et historique telles que sa connaissance, sa protection et sa mise en valeur présentent un intérêt public indéniable, et ce, au plan national. L’Arrondissement est un témoin éloquent de la riche histoire de la ville de compagnie que fut Arvida et, de concert avec les secteurs environnants de la cité modèle, fait foi de sa contribution originale, mesurée sur la scène mondiale, au panorama historique des villes industrielles planifiées. Il présente aussi une homogénéité, une cohérence et une congruence paysagère qui le rendent reconnaissable; il contient une proportion exceptionnelle d’éléments architecturaux d’intérêt en bon état de conservation; enfin, il représente des échantillons uniques de la diversité paysagère distinctive de la ville de compagnie. 

Plus précisément, l’agence Parcs Canada a proposé que l’Arrondissement d’Arvida soit d’importance historique pour les raisons suivantes :

  • La ville d’Arvida, constitue une excellente synthèse des concepts urbanistiques de l’époque, tels les mouvements City Beautiful, Garden City, mais aussi selon les préceptes plus modernes du « plan contour », de la hiérarchisation des voies de circulation et de la fédération de centres de quartiers. Cette synthèse se traduit, au-delà du centre-ville monumental, par un tracé organique qui épouse la topographie du sol, par l’omniprésence d’espaces verts, de parcs et d’arbres, par le caractère pittoresque des paysages parsemés de maisons pavillonnaires, sans clôtures ni obstacles, comme si celles-ci avaient surgi du sol.
  • Exemple fort bien conservé de ville mono-industrielle canadienne, Arvida constitue un projet singulier de logement ouvrier de qualité où l’édification rapide d’un paysage urbain diversifié s’est faite au moyen d’une grande variété de modèles de résidences, dont certaines constituent une manifestation particulièrement réussie d’architecture d’inspiration régionaliste ou néo-vernaculaire.
  • Associée au premier complexe aluminier au Canada, l’expansion d’Arvida témoigne de l’essor et du développement lié à l’industrie de l’aluminium au pays.

Arvida rejoint ainsi le catalogue sélect des 961 lieux historiques nationaux désignés auparavant, c’est-à-dire depuis 1919. Au Québec, en 2012, on dénombrait 193 lieux historiques nationaux; dans l’ensemble du pays, on compte sur les doigts d’une main les villes de compagnie commémorées par le gouvernement fédéral, en dépit de l’importance déterminante de celles-ci dans l’essor du Canada. Arvida en est une représentante notable.

  Site officiel de la Ville de Saguenay