Awards and recognition

Hydro-Québec Excellence Award from the organization Rues Principales

At the 31st Annual Rues Principales Symposium, held on October 24, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency in Montreal, the 2018 Hydro-Québec Excellence Award was presented to the City of Saguenay – Arvida City Centre. The award was presented by Ms. Marie-Claude Durand, the head of community relations - Montreal, at Hydro-Québec. 

In Saguenay – Arvida City Centre, all the community stakeholders and all the measures undertaken were geared towards the presentation of the rich built heritage. A strong mobilization of the community regarding the various projects, the establishment of new businesses and a full calendar of events paired with a club of dynamic ambassadors have helped promote the sector’s vitality. The development of the downtown area was also granted particular attention in order to beautify, renovate and add green spaces to the city centre. 

The Excellence Award recognizes the achievements and exemplary results obtained by a member city of the Network Rues Principales regarding each aspect of the revitalization process of the past year.

31st Annual Symposium and Excellence Banquet | Downtown Arvida, recipient of the 2018 Excellence Award

Thomas Baillairgé Prize from the Ordre des architectes du Québec

Saguenay's initiatives in urban management, planning and cultural development were honoured with the Thomas-Baillairgé Prize in 2011, presented by the Ordre des architectes du Québec. The Order thereby recognized the efforts made by the City and citizens of Arvida for the quality of conservation and promotion of the built landscape.

Prince of Wales Prize by the National Trust of Canada

The Prince of Wales Prize recognizes communities for the successful heritage stewardship of a town. Under the generous patronage of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, the prize is awarded to a local government, large or small, rural or urban, that has demonstrated a strong and consistent commitment to the conservation of its historic sites. 

Saguenay was nominated by the Citizen's Committee for the development of Arvida's heritage. On October 12, 2012, the National Trust of Canada (formerly known as the Heritage Canada Foundation) awarded the Prince of Wales Prize to the City of Saguenay in recognition of its excellence in the management of Arvida's built heritage.

Photo :On October 12, 2012, the National Trust of Canada (formerly known as “Heritage Canada Foundation”) awarded the Prince of Wales Prize to the City of Saguenay. 
Crédit : National Trust of Canada

More information on the National Trust of Canada website

50 projects that transformed Quebec society, from the Université du Québec à Montréal

As part of its 50th anniversary celebrations, the Université du Québec à Montréal presents “Parcours impact”; 50 research and creation projects that have transformed Quebec society. The Arvida heritage recognition project is defined as “a collaborative effort that began in 1996 between UQAM researchers and community partners, which sought to redefine the purpose of this heritage within a post-industrial context, to resort to it as an economic, cultural and environmental factor for local development.”

More information on the Université du Québec à Montréal website

  Official City of Saguenay website