Awards and recognition

Hydro-Québec Excellence Award from the organization Rues Principales

At the 31st Annual Rues Principales Symposium, held on October 24, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency in Montreal, the 2018 Hydro-Québec Excellence Award was presented to the City of Saguenay – Arvida City Centre. The award was presented by Ms. Marie-Claude Durand, the head of community relations - Montreal, at Hydro-Québec. 

In Saguenay – Arvida City Centre, all the community stakeholders and all the measures undertaken were geared towards the presentation of the rich built heritage. A strong mobilization of the community regarding the various projects, the establishment of new businesses and a full calendar of events paired with a club of dynamic ambassadors have helped promote the sector’s vitality. The development of the downtown area was also granted particular attention in order to beautify, renovate and add green spaces to the city centre. 

The Excellence Award recognizes the achievements and exemplary results obtained by a member city of the Network Rues Principales regarding each aspect of the revitalization process of the past year.

31st Annual Symposium and Excellence Banquet | Downtown Arvida, recipient of the 2018 Excellence Award

Thomas Baillairgé Prize from the Ordre des architectes du Québec

Saguenay's initiatives in urban management, planning and cultural development were honoured with the Thomas-Baillairgé Prize in 2011, presented by the Ordre des architectes du Québec. The Order thereby recognized the efforts made by the City and citizens of Arvida for the quality of conservation and promotion of the built landscape.

Prince of Wales Prize by the National Trust of Canada

The Prince of Wales Prize recognizes communities for the successful heritage stewardship of a town. Under the generous patronage of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, the prize is awarded to a local government, large or small, rural or urban, that has demonstrated a strong and consistent commitment to the conservation of its historic sites. 

Saguenay was nominated by the Citizen's Committee for the development of Arvida's heritage. On October 12, 2012, the National Trust of Canada (formerly known as the Heritage Canada Foundation) awarded the Prince of Wales Prize to the City of Saguenay in recognition of its excellence in the management of Arvida's built heritage.

Photo :On October 12, 2012, the National Trust of Canada (formerly known as “Heritage Canada Foundation”) awarded the Prince of Wales Prize to the City of Saguenay. 
Crédit : National Trust of Canada

More information on the National Trust of Canada website

50 projects that transformed Quebec society, from the Université du Québec à Montréal

As part of its 50th anniversary celebrations, the Université du Québec à Montréal presents “Parcours impact”; 50 research and creation projects that have transformed Quebec society. The Arvida heritage recognition project is defined as “a collaborative effort that began in 1996 between UQAM researchers and community partners, which sought to redefine the purpose of this heritage within a post-industrial context, to resort to it as an economic, cultural and environmental factor for local development.”

More information on the Université du Québec à Montréal website

  Official City of Saguenay website

Prix et distinctions

Prix d’excellence Hydro-Québec de l’organisme Rues principales

C’est dans le cadre du 31e Colloque annuel de Rues principales, tenu le 24 octobre 2018 au Hyatt Regency de Montréal, que le prix d’Excellence Hydro-Québec 2018 a été décerné à la ville de Saguenay – Centre-Ville Arvida. Le prix a été remis par Madame Marie-Claude Durand, chef, Relations avec le milieu – Montréal, chez Hydro-Québec. 

À Saguenay – Centre-ville Arvida, l’ensemble des acteurs du milieu tout comme l’ensemble des actions ont été orientées vers la mise en valeur de leur riche patrimoine bâti. Une forte mobilisation du milieu autour des différents projets, l’implantation de nouveaux commerces et un calendrier d’évènements étoffé combiné à un club d’ambassadeurs dynamiques ont contribué à promouvoir la vitalité du secteur. Un souci a aussi été apporté à l’aménagement afin d’embellir, de rénover et de verdir le centre-ville. 

Le prix d’Excellence salue les réalisations et les résultats exemplaires obtenus par une ville membre du Réseau Rues principales dans chacun des volets de la démarche de dynamisation, au cours de la dernière année.

31e colloque annuel et banquet d'excellence | Centre-ville d'Arvida, récipiendaire du Prix d'excellence 2018

Prix Thomas-Baillairgé de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec

Les initiatives de Saguenay en matière de gestion urbaine, de planification et de développement culturel ont été couronnés en 2011 par la remise du prix Thomas-Baillairgé remis par l'Ordre des architectes du Québec. L'Ordre a ainsi reconnu la contribution de la Ville et des citoyens d'Arvida à la conservation et à la promotion des qualités du paysage construit.

Crédit-photo : Paul Cimon

Prix du prince de Galles de la Fiducie nationale du Canada

Le Prix du prince de Galles souligne le leadership municipal en matière de patrimoine. Sous le généreux patronage de Son Altesse Royale le prince de Galles, ce prix est décerné à une administration municipale, petite ou grande, en milieu rural ou urbain, qui a manifesté un engagement solide et constant à l'endroit de la conservation de ses lieux historiques.

La candidature de Saguenay a été présentée par le Comité des citoyens pour la valorisation du patrimoine d'Arvida. Le 12 octobre 2012, la Fiducie nationale du Canada (jadis nommée la Fondation Héritage Canada) décernait le Prix du prince de Galles à la Ville de Saguenay pour attester de son excellence pour la gestion du patrimoine bâti d'Arvida.

Photo : Le 12 octobre 2012, la Fiducie nationale du Canada (alors nommée la « Fondation Héritage Canada ») décernait le Prix du prince de Galles à la Ville de Saguenay.
Crédit : Fiducie nationale du Canada

Plus d’information sur le site de la Fiducie nationale du Canada

50 projets qui ont transformé la société québécoise, de l’Université du Québec à Montréal

Dans le cadre des célébrations de son 50e anniversaire, l’Université du Québec à Montréal présente « Parcours impact »; 50 projets de recherche et de création qui ont transformé la société québécoise. Le projet de reconnaissance patrimoniale d’Arvida y est mis de l’avant comme « le fruit d’une collaboration débutée en 1996 entre chercheurs de l’UQAM et partenaires de la communauté, qui avaient pour objectif de redéfinir les finalités de ce patrimoine dans un contexte postindustriel, afin d’y recourir en tant que levier et agent de développement local sur les plans économique, culturel et environnemental. »

Plus d’information sur le site de l’Université du Québec à Montréal

  Site officiel de la Ville de Saguenay