CORPA

Mission

In June 2010, Saguenay set up the Committee for the recognition of Arvida’s heritage value (CORPA), a multi-partite organization bringing together decision-makers, business people, elected representatives, citizens and actors from all horizons, among which cultural, urban, commercial, touristic, governmental, as well as aluminum industry stakeholders.

The CORPA mission is to support and reinforce initiatives to protect and promote, make known, recognize and pass on the Arvida legacy. The Committee for the recognition of Arvida’s heritage value is dedicated to promote the preservation, knowledge and assessment of the cultural landscape and built heritage. It also aims at understanding of the great role of Arvida in the development of architecture and urban planning in cities and human history, on a local, national and international level.

This includes short-term protection and development initiatives, such as collecting memoirs and life narratives from Arvidians, as well as a long-term goal to be designated a UNESCO world heritage site. Saguenay is convinced Arvida constitutes a unique key chapter in Canadian history, and hopes to contribute to the knowledge, understanding and representation of Canada on national and international level. The dual issue of urban planning and cultural influence makes it all the more important to make the heritage protection effort widely known. The CORPA is committed to share the legacy Arvida citizens are custodians of. Saguenay also instructed CORPA with the mission to raise public awareness in regard to the architectural landscape of Arvida while supporting the local population’s efforts and the attachment of citizens of Arvida, and from around the world, to the history and heritage value of the city.

Composition

  • City of Saguenay Mayor’s Office
  • St. Thérèse neighbourhood Councillor
  • Jonquière MP’s Office
  • Jonquière MNA’s Office
  • Management of the Jonquière borough
  • Regional Direction of the Ministry of Culture and Communications
  • Rio Tinto
  • National Labor Union of the Employees of the Aluminum of Arvida (SNEAA)
  • Sir William Price Heritage Centre
  • Citizen Council for the Enhancement of Arvida’s Heritage
  • Arvida Economic and Cultural Development Corporation
  • Promotion Saguenay
  • City of Saguenay Arts, Culture and Libraries Department technical support
  • City of Saguenay Urban and Spatial planning Services technical and secretarial support 
  Official City of Saguenay website

CORPA

Mission

En juin 2010, Saguenay a mis sur pied une table de concertation, le Comité pour la reconnaissance patrimoniale d’Arvida (CORPA), organisme multipartite qui rassemble des décideurs, des gens d’affaires, des élus, des citoyens et des acteurs de toutes provenances, dont des intervenants des secteurs culturel et urbanistique, des milieux de la promotion commerciale et touristique, des politiques gouvernementales et de l’industrie aluminière.

La mission du CORPA est de soutenir la concertation des efforts et la consolidation des initiatives en vue de protéger et de valoriser, de faire connaître, de faire reconnaître et de transmettre l’héritage d’Arvida. Le Comité pour la reconnaissance patrimoniale d’Arvida se consacre ainsi à promouvoir la conservation, la connaissance et l’appréciation du paysage culturel et du patrimoine bâti. Il veut aussi favoriser la compréhension de l’importance significative d’Arvida dans le développement de l’architecture, de la planification des villes et dans l’histoire humaine, et ce, aux échelles locale, nationale et internationale.

Cela inclut des projets de protection ou de valorisation à court terme, comme un programme de collection des mémoires et des récits de vie des Arvidiens, aussi bien que la volonté, à plus long terme, de recevoir la désignation par l’UNESCO d’Arvida à titre de site du patrimoine mondial. En effet, convaincue qu’Arvida témoigne d’un chapitre unique et déterminant de l’histoire canadienne et mondiale, Saguenay espère contribuer à sa manière aux savoirs, à la compréhension et à la représentation du Canada sur les scènes nationale et internationale. Cette double problématique de gestion urbaine et de rayonnement culturel rend d’autant plus importante la reconnaissance élargie de son œuvre de protection patrimoniale; soucieuse de partager l’héritage dont ses citoyens sont les dépositaires, Saguenay investit donc aussi le CORPA de la mission de sensibiliser le plus vaste public possible aux qualités du paysage architectural et urbain d’Arvida, tout en soutenant les efforts de la population locale et l’attachement des citoyens d’Arvida et du monde à l’histoire et aux qualités patrimoniales de la cité.

Composition

  • Cabinet du maire de la Ville de Saguenay
  • Conseiller municipal du quartier Sainte-Thérèse
  • Bureau du député fédéral de Jonquière
  • Bureau du député provincial de Jonquière
  • Direction de l'arrondissement de Jonquière
  • Direction régionale du ministère de la Culture et des Communications
  • Rio Tinto
  • Syndicat national des employés de l'aluminium d'Arvida (SNEAA)
  • Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price
  • Comité citoyen pour la valorisation du patrimoine d'Arvida
  • Corporation de développement économique et culturel d'Arvida
  • Promotion Saguenay
  • Division des arts, culture et bibliothèques de la Ville de Saguenay en soutien technique
  • Service de l'aménagement du territoire et urbanisme en soutien technique et secrétariat
  Site officiel de la Ville de Saguenay